The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Brunei Darussalam then joined on 7 January 1984, Viet Nam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN. ASEAN’s activities are coordinated by the ASEAN Secretariat based in Jakarta.

The ‘ASEAN Community’ was launched on 31st of December 2015. The ASEAN Community is comprised of three pillars, namely the ASEAN Political-Security Community, ASEAN Economic Community and ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community. At the ASEAN Summit in November 2015, ASEAN adopted the Kuala Lumpur Declaration on ASEAN 2025: Forging Ahead Together with its new vision and blueprint for the ASEAN Community for the next 10 years.

Fact On ASEAN(2017)


    647 million (3rd largest globally)


    4.48 million ㎢


    GDP 2.7615 trillion USD (3.45% of total world GDP)


    2.5748 trillion USD (Export : 1.3223, Import : 1.2525)


    Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam


    Jakarta, Indonesia (Secretary General: Dato Lim Jock Hoi)

The official website : www.asean.org